Kiwi Series reviews

(Reviews are not edited)

Kiwi in Cat City 


***** Review by the boys at booksforboysreviewsandfun.blogspot.co.uk on April 8, 2013

James:
I enjoyed this book. It was fun learning what Amy and James wondered with the cat. We have a cat named Poohbear and she disappears in the house. If she were an outside cat she would have many fun adventures. Kiwi is black and likes to live in a world like we do, but in Cat City. When the two got the shock from the cat I really was excited to see what came next. This book had lots of adventure, mystery, and unexpected things that made it very fun to read. I also read it to my little brother, and it was fun being a character in the book.
I give it 5 stars.

Bobby:
This book was funny. Who knew a cat could have their own city to go to when we are not with them. They had some pretty cool things in the city we would like to have here to play with the cat. I liked reading the adventure. It gets 5 stars-I laughed a lot.

Brenton:
Fun book! Big chapters but I just read it on moms Kindle. Cute cat in the story goes
out to a city created for cats and has lots of fun, but when the kid owners find out,
and then learn a surprise secret, it turns even funner. The cat and kids share fun.
Good story, hope there are more like it. 5 stars.

Keagan
I like the cat story and cat city. I wish we can go there. Fun read with my brothers.
How many stars Keagan- 5

Mommy Views:
This book was an adventure for the boys. Reading it together allowed them to
find a voice, create a movie almost with the characters, and Ms. Johnstone really does write to capture an audience. Fabulous Read. 



Review by: Emily Broutian (aged 9), September 14, 2012
Do you wish this was a series?  Yes
If this is a series, do you want to read the next one?  Yes
What's the best thing about it?  The characters and the mystery.
What's the worst thing about it?  That I have to wait so long for the next one.
Would you want to own this book, or just check it out from the library?   Yes (own).
Anything else you'd like to say?  You won't be able to put this book down until you finish reading it.


***** Review by: Megan Broutian, July 26, 2012

The book opens with Amy, waking up in the middle of night to find her cat Kiwi engrossed in studying an unusual moon. When Kiwi leaps out of the window, her tail perked up, Amy wakes up her brother James and together they decide to follow Kiwi on her nocturnal escapade. To their utter shock, a talking Kiwi invites them to follow along.  Their curiosity peaked,  they happily oblige, only to realize that to make the trip, they have just volunteered to be turned into cats!
Kiwi in Cat City is the story of Amy and James, — or rather Ames and Jimster, their cat alter egos — and their adventures in Cat City, the alternate, parallel world just for felines. Unencumbered by the constraints of people-world time, in hot pursuit of the catizen-catnappers, with Inspector Furrball and Kiwi as their guides, Amy and James live the adventure of a lifetime… or maybe just the first of many.
I loved the poem in the prologue and was hooked at the introduction, with the abduction of Mr. Katz, which took me a couple of chapters to realize was actually … woops, maybe I shouldn’t say. This is such a cute, delightful story that, as soon as I started reading it and even though it was pretty late at night, I so wanted to wake up Emily, my nine-year-old daughter and have her read it with me. The elaborate settings, exquisite  details, and sophisticated characters are matched only by the wit and ingenuity of the author. If I loved this book so much as a grown (mature?) woman, I’m betting young adults will absolutely fall in love with it.  The little miss Em just started reading it and, halfway in, she’s just as engrossed as I was. Can’t wait till she finishes it and asks to read the next book in the series; it will give me just the right excuse for getting it. 
http://www.behavioralchild.com/friday-finds-kiwi-in-cat-city-vickie-johnston
                                                                                                                          

***** Review by: Jill Arent "All Things Jill-Elizabeth on January 2, 2012
By Alynn (my step-daughter), age 12

In Kiwi In Cat City by Vickie Johnstone, I really liked that Kiwi was a cat-agent. Amy and James (people) follow their Siamese cat into a separate cat world. Inside that world, Amy and James - or Ames and Jimster as they are known in the cat world - find that their cat Kiwi is actually a cat-agent, and he's on a case where there are missing catizens (cat citizens - teehee) and Amy and James have to find the cat-napper.This book was very good.  The only thing that I didn't like is that there were a lot of big words that I didn't understand and had to ask about or look up. I would recommend this to kids ages nine and up or even adults, to read to their kids at night.The ending was great! (It wasn't the way I expected - but in a good way.) People would like this book because it's not some boring informational book, it's fun and always keeps you on the edge of your seat.

***** Review by: Cassie (Gathering Leaves blog), November 2011

Yes, this is a children’s book, but don’t let that fool you into believing that it is any less entertaining for adults!  I hung on every word of this fantastic little novel, from Amy and James’ home through Cat Crime and back again. Kiwi and her cat friends are super fun characters, and the reader gets to go along with the children for a grand adventure. Vickie has a terrific imagination and truly amazing talent in putting her vision into words.
As we were getting ready for the blog feature, Vickie asked me who my favorite character was, and after some thought I decided it was Inspector Furrball. He has that intelligent quirkiness about him that makes him fun and relatable. There were a ton of cute, funny things throughout this book which kept the mystery from bogging it down too much.  Each of the characters had their own unique personality, even the city itself. 
Due to time constraints, I haven’t read this one with my kids yet, but it is definitely on our to-read-together list.  I’ve already purchased the other two books as well, and I am anxious to revisit Kiwi and Cat City!

***** Review by: Sue P on October 02, 2011 

I have to admit I started this book with a little indifference. My preferred genre is horror,thriller and murder mystery and it is many, many years since I have read a children's book. Oh boy, was I in for a surprise! This book is a pure delight - the author has such a great imagination and her ability to captivate an audience is second to none.
The tale is of two children who decide to follow their pet cat, Kiwi, one night and get the shock of the lives when they are led into a great adventure within Cat City. It is here when Kiwi and the children, who, by the way are now kittens, embark on an investigation to find  missing catizens.I just loved the way the author changed words to fit into the cat world, I really don't know how she managed to come up with so many but they were brilliant and I found myself chuckling away throughout. I soon became engrossed in the story and completely forgot I was reading a children's book - it was so good.
To conclude, this was a well written and edited story, full of fun, colour and adventure, which I found very refreshing. The ending was a little inconclusive but this is the first in the series so I am guessing this is purposely done in order to encourage the reader to read the next one, which I would certainly do. I would love to see this book published in paperback and lining children's bookshelves, it would also be a great choice for parents to read out loud as bedtime stories as they would enjoy it just as much.
With an imagination like this and the skill of the storytelling, Vickie Johnstone could go far and I, for one, really hopes she does.

***** Review by: Annarita Guarnieri on July 07, 2011

I must confess that I approached this book with a few misgivings, because I had not read anything meant for children in ages. But after just a few pages I had already forgotten it was a book for children, or at least I found out that I did not mind it at all. While simple enough that children can understand and enjoy it, the narration is flowing and the style elegant, clean and amusing. And the plot hooks you from the very start. The idea of children turning into cats and following their own (supposedly) domestic cat to a strange land and toward adventure is quite original in its own right, and the whole story develops with a steady rhythm, in the best mystery style, with a few surprises here and there. It was a very enjoyable reading, so much so that I’m now looking forward to reading the next volume of Kiwi’s adventures (a few threads are left hanging in the end, but the story is self-conclusive).

***** Review by: CathyS on May 25, 2011 

I don’t normally read children’s books (!), but as I was given an opportunity to review this, I decided a little light entertainment wouldn’t come amiss. And entertain it did. This is a delightful story and the author’s imagined Cat City was great fun. The cats’ names were cute and cosy and life, as humans know it, was cleverly cat-adapted – milk from the drinks machine, catpads (best equivalent of electronic communication!) and fish-flavoured biscuits. You don’t have to like cats to enjoy this story – the plot centres around getting to the bottom of catnapping (by cats, of course) – the mix of characters and how they are portrayed often make you forget that they are feline, from the members of the crime investigating cat force, to the wily perpetrators. Whilst the story ends well (I’m not giving anything away here, it’s a children’s book, it has to end well!) you are left just a tad high and dry, but, thankfully, you are reliably informed that the story is ‘to be continued’…… ..thank goodness, or I shall worry about Amy and James….My grandson is only 4 months old, but I can’t wait till he is older, when I shall look forward to reading this to him very much.

***** Review by: grady harp on May 24, 2011

Vickie Johnstone, whom most of us know as a poet of promise, has branched out into the world of children's literature and if her inaugural book is any indication of what lies ahead, she proves that she has what it takes to create stories that not only capture the minds of youngsters but also the glued attention of the adult readers as well. She understands well that adventure and mystery and fantasy are the ingredients that hold a youngster's attention, but at the same time she appreciates the fact that without the use of humor and a solid bit of 'connect' to real life that some children might have bad dreams if this were a bedtime story. Amy and James are two young children who live comfortably in a home with parents: security is assured. They happen to 'own' a chubby cat they named Kiwi and one night, with parents asleep, curiosity gets the better of them as they observe Kiwi outside staring at the moon. Wondering what Kiwi does for snacks and breakfast they follow their nocturnal cat only to discover that Kiwi talks, can transform herself in a purple mist to become invisible, and furthermore Kiwi instructs Amy and James to imagine they are cats and poof! the transformation occurs! Now the newly named Ames and Jimster enter Cat World where all manner of living conditions mimic human cities, with Meow Caf├ęs, Meow Markets, and even a police station where the three adventurers meet Inspector Furrball who shares with them a Cat Crime in progress: Catnappings have been occurring every Monday and Furrball assigns Cat Squaddie member Paws to assist the trio in resolving the mystery of the missing five catizens. The adventure is well paced and is populated with interesting characters and dilemmas and situations - all of which challenge Kiwi, Ames and Jimster to solve the well designed mystery. In addition to telling a terrific little story, Vickie Johnstone has inserted plays on words, all-too-human situations and prejudices and flaws that make her speaking cats symbols for human foibles. Her introduction of advanced words bantered about by malapropisms encourages children to think up a step without stopping the flow of the tale. All of the ingredients for involving youngsters in the love of reading are  here. KIWI IN CAT CITY is a great start in what appears to be a promised series of adventures for those who love books - human beings of all ages! 

***** Review by: A P on May 10, 2011

Lots of fun and genuinely well-written. The author has a fantastic imagination and I'm sure all us cat-lovers have wondering what our little friends get up to in the dead of night!

***** Review by: wistfulskimmie on May 04, 2011 

This is a lovely story about 2 children who decide to follow their cat one night and 'see what she has for breakfast'. They end up following her to 'Cat City' and the book is then about their adventures there. To say any more would be to give away spoilers and that’s not what this review is about! This author has a fantastic imagination and although this was essentially a children’s book, I found myself thoroughly enjoying it. The story was told in an easy to read way and was a lovely subject. Who hasn’t wondered where their cat goes all night? I would love to read more from this author as she is quite simply amazing!

***** Review by: Gema Newby on April 29, 2011

I love this story. I have only had the chance to read the sample pages and can't wait to find out what happens next. As an animal lover I have often stared at my pets wondering what they are thinking and what they get up to when I'm not there! So this story struck a chord with me straight away. I enjoyed being with Amy and James as they discover their cat can talk and when they turned into cats themselves I was 10 again! right there in the story with them. This is a perfect book for young readers, full of facinating descriptions, and exciting adventure that really draws you in. As a Primary school teacher, I would definitly definitly read it to my class.

***** Review by: Alex Canton-Dutari on July 26, 2011

After I read this interesting story I wondered if it was a "children's book" or a book for adults with the capacity to follow a child's fantasy in their mind. I decided that the plot was adult intended, though the adaptation to the cat species was a believable fantasy. After all, we have seen enough cats of all ages dressed in many garbs... of course, less than dogs. Cats are more dignified. I tried reading some passages out loud as if telling a story to a child. It worked! Yes, I want to read the sequel of this well-written and well edited book. 

***** Review by: Savvy Consumer on July 1, 2011

I love this book. I think this book is for students in grade 5 and going into grade 6. 

***** Review by: Rebecca Johnson "The Rebecca Review"  on May 2, 2011

Kiwi in Cat City is a delightful tale filled with mystery and suspense. Vickie Johnstone has a wonderful imagination and has created a magical world where cats run their own world outside of human intervention. The story begins on one dark night when Amy and James decide to follow their cat named Kiwi. Surprisingly Kiwi speaks to both children about following her and magically turns them both into cats. This makes the story much more exciting as now Amy and James can follow Kiwi into Cat City. They then endeavor to solve the mystery of the disappearing cats. As the story unfolds there are many surprising details and lots of adventure and action. This story will be enjoyed by anyone of any age that loves cats. I found to be an exciting read and can recommend it to you.

***** Review by: Helmy Parlente Kusuma  on August 23, 2011

This is not only a purrfect bedtime story for your children, but also a welcoming refreshment for hissing adults to tame their stiffness. Funny, mysterious and full of paws! Don't forget to wash your whiskers!

***** Review by: Nicole Storey  on December 14, 2011 

This book is an enjoyable read and kids will especially like it! Johnstone takes a cat named Kiwi and gives her a life like regular people have. Kiwi has a job and, when not living with her humans, resides in Cat City. When her human owners decide to follow her one night to see what happens when Kiwi goes out on her own, they end up being transformed into cats themselves and Kiwi takes them to the magical city with her.
Johnstone knows what kids want! This book is very descriptive, but also gives children a chance to use their imaginations. I loved this story because it had a plot that I could relate to and get interested in, and yet, it wasn’t so involved that children could not understand it. I would recommend this book for children ages 11 and up. This is the first in Johnstone’s Kiwi series and I am looking forward to sharing them with my daughter when she is a bit older. She loves cats and what better story than one where the kids in the book get to become kittens and go on an adventure in a cat city?

***** Review by: Anna Pescardot on December 21, 2011 

I read this to my 10 year old twins and they loved it. They liked the way the children turned into cats and went into the cat world and they loved the names of the cats too. They liked  the ending and thought it was very well-written and that other children should enjoy it too. Well done, Vickie

***** Review by: Ritesh Kala on December 21, 2011

Who would have thought that I could read and enjoy a book written mainly for children! This is one book that will hold the attention of the most fidgety child and captivate and entertain them.
The ‘Kiwi’ series by author Vickie Johnstone revolves around Amy and James, two young children who own a cat named Kiwi. One night, as they see their cat outside staring at the moon, they go down and start following her, until she disappears in a cloud of purple smoke! As she returns and starts talking (Of course, a talking cat, this is a children’s book after all), she instructs the kids to do to mimic her and suddenly they find themselves turned into kittens and this is where their adventure begins.
Kiwi takes the new kittens to ‘Cat City’ which is quite similar to our world with cafes and shops, roads and cars and even a police station. This is the ‘double life of Kiwi, where she works as a detective. The trio is handed a case by Inspector Furrball as soon as they enter this new world, one involving ‘catnappings’. They are joined by the inspector’s nephew, Paws on this case. As they start investigating, a mystery evolves and the rest of the story is about how this unusual group solves this mystery.
This is a really clean mystery, you will not find people (oh sorry, cats) getting hurt. Even the guns are freeze guns to avoid any bloodshed. However, the suspense is amazingly created and maintained throughout the book. I was quite surprised to find myself not willing to put the book down. The mystery of the story has been really well designed and has enough twists to keep everyone guessing.
The author has modified a number of words enough to give them a ‘catty’ twist. This was something I found quite amusing and I liked the imagination it involved. Also the world, although familiar to us, is adapted for the cats that inhabit it. For example, you can find mouse treats and fish biscuits, milk instead of soft drinks, scratching posts and cat toys littered for their entertainment.
I was somewhat disappointed by the abrupt end, but knowing that this is a series, it is something I should have expected and accepted. I am not saying the mystery was not solved, but the author has left a few strands open to continue the series. I am amazed to be saying this, but I would love to continue reading about the new adventures these kids/kittens get into.
I can say that this would make an excellent book for parents to read along with their children. This is a great place to start to get children interested in reading and wean them away from Facebook television and their gaming boxes.





Kiwi and the Missing Magic                                                                                                           

***** Review by: Grady Harp on July 10, 2011 

Vickie Johnstone has responded to the popularity of the Kiwi series first installment KIWI IN CAT CITY and has just completed the Part 2 of what promises to be a long line of tales involving the morphing of humans into cats. This story is much longer and involves some very sound lessons in philosophy for the young reader. Once again the cat named Kiwi belong to Amy and James takes the children on further trips to Cat World, and again the humans take on the form of kittens renamed Ames and Jimster. The initial trip in this book comes after Amy and James discover that the flowers in their garden are drooping and that there do not appear to be pollinating bees. The three - Kiwi, Amy and James - set out to discover the mystery and find that the bees are all huddled at the river because the Queen Bee refuses them to pollinate flowers that are going to die anyway. And so, adventure completed, the three are off again: the trip to Cat City happens whenever Kiwi coaxes the children into the purple cloud that transforms them into a place completely populate by cats (read catizens). This time around we meet Kiwi's mother Moogie and we are entertained by her 'new influence' on kiwi: Moogie has a past and the three learn about parenting. A return to the 'real world' finds James and Amy readjusting to their human forms - a state that provides some comical episodes as they find difficulty leaving their kitten ways behind...
But there are other adventures in this volume, one include the mysterious appearance of a giant mouse who threatens the catizens. In the Cat World there is some missing magic and it is up to the three heroes to find the Mouse King, defeat that threatening menace and return to a degree of normalcy. But of course Book 3 is already in the making. Vickie Johnstone is a born storyteller and has the talent to keep her series fresh with new adventures while maintaining the usual cast of characters - and adding new ones to bring on the magic. In her second book she introduces some well designed wisdom about traits all children should learn and this is a major plus to the further growth of the series. If there is a criticism to be leveled it is the need for illustrations: reading stories such as this on a Kindle format can tire the eyes. Were there some hope that the books will appear in printed format complete with the illustrations which beg to be present in this series, Johnstone's Kiwi books would become a best sellers!

***** Review by: Rebecca Johnson on July 17, 2011

After reading about Kiwi's first adventure I was curious as to what she would do next. In the first book Amy and James turn into kittens and follow their pet cat Kiwi into Cat City. This book begins with their return home. In their real world they retain some of the cat characteristics from when they turned into cats. This provides some humor into the story. They also learn life lessons from the wise Kiwi who is called back to Cat City once more after learning that someone has stolen some magic. Cat City seems even more fun the second time they visit. Vickie Johnstone really has a great imagination and creates a cozy world for cats and a underground kingdom of giant mice who plan on invading Cat City. Is there enough time to prevent the attack and what is Kiwi going to do about it? This book has lots of surprises, a unique plot and captivating characters. If you loved the first book you will adore the second. I also hear there is a third book in the works. If you love cats these stories will amuse you.

***** Review by: Helmy Kusuma on October 17, 2011 

Kiwi is fun to read as ever! If you are following Kiwi Series closely, you can certainly find the same funny and witty story here, with a bonus, of course. Vickie has included other animals here and they accounts for the clever plot of this sequel. It's not complicated though, but sure you are going to be served with a few surprises.
Eeek Fu! My mouth is sealed.

***** Review by: Greta Burroughs on November 3, 2011 

The second book in Vickie Johnstone’s “Kiwi” series is just as engaging as the first. I truly enjoyed the way the author makes an imaginary tale come to life.
Kiwi, the cat, the two children, James and Amy along with a pet hamster and a mouse prevent Cat City from being destroyed. Of course, there is a lot more to the story than that such as new characters being introduced but it takes reading the story to see how it all fits together into one very nice package.
The “Kiwi” series is intended for kids but grownups such as myself will love the book as well. I highly recommend the whole series. 

***** Review by: Ritesh Kala on December 24, 2011 

Kiwi's gang is back in full force! Vickie has again created a huge fun filled adventure for us to follow, and I loved every bit of it. All the characters of the previous story are back with a few new characters. The list of new characters includes Kiwi's mother Moogie who seems to be quite influential in Cat City and a giant mouse named Whiskers (I run away when I see a tiny mouse, I don't know what I'd do if I saw a giant one!).
As anyone who has read the first book in this series knows that the kids named Amy and James have a cat named Kiwi, who is find of `magical' and can covert these kids into kittens and take them to Cat City. After they return from their first trip to Cat City, the kids find it a little difficult to adjust back to their human selves and retain some of the habits they picked up in Cat City. This provides us with a few laughs. The adventure begins when Kiwi teaches the kids to talk to all the other animals. This new found skill helps them talk to the bees and find out what is wrong with the flowers around their house. Here they meet the `worrying bee' who worries about everything.
The real adventure begins when they return to Cat City and soon find that some `Magic' is missing. The adventure takes a serious turn when Cat City comes under attack, aided by some of the missing Magic. James' pet hamster, Hammy also makes an appearance and plays a role in the story. Important values of friendship and forgiveness are really well depicted and kids can learn a few valuable insights about how true friends should really behave.
The story takes a number of twists and turns to reach a gripping conclusion as any further attack on Cat City is finally averted. I will not go any further to avoid giving out too many details of the story. You'll have to read it yourself to find out what happens then!
Unlike the first book, this book is not entirely based in Cat City. The team moves back and forth between the human world, Cat City and `other worlds'. So the setting of the story is a bit different, but the readers do get to explore other new worlds and meet new animals.
There is a third book in the series, which has already come out, and I can't wait to get to it. I also hope that the series continues to produce such magical tales for a long, long time.
Find riteshkala on wordpress.com.




Kiwi and the Living Nightmare                                                                                                     

***** Review by: Greta Burroughs on November 3, 2011

Book three in the “Kiwi” series, “Kiwi and the Living Nightmare” continues the exploits of Kiwi the cat, Amy and James, a host of characters from Cat City along with some critters from our world.
It was very appropriate that Vickie published the book just before Halloween because that is the time frame the story takes place. Kiwi and the kids have a dream of another cat crying out for help and discover that the haunted house where the stranded cat is at can only be entered on All Hallow’s Eve.
I like the way the author introduces new characters into book three yet draws on the previous books for the characters that I already know and love.
“Living Nightmare” has just the right amount of scary bits along with humour to make it a very enjoyable read for kids of all ages.

***** Review by: Grady Harp on November 8, 2011 

Vickie Johnstone continues her Kiwi Series with KIWI AND THE LIVING NIGHTMARE which seems written specifically for the Halloween season - or any time children want to enjoy a really scary yet fun story. As a bit of background for those who are unfamiliar with the Kiwi series, Kiwi is a magical black cat who lives with Amy and James and has the power to take them to Cat City where Amy and James can take the form of cats ('Ames' and 'Jimster'). In this particular story, Amy awakens having had a bad dream and when she shares her dream at breakfast, Kiwi says (oh, by the way, Kiwi can talk and Amy and James can communicate easily with her) she had the same dream - a sweet 3 legged cat lives in a big house and is terrified and wants to be set free. The three decide they want to help.
Amy, James and Kiwi go to the library, research old newspapers and find the image of the old house of their dream - but the article says the house burned down along with the owner Mrs. Hargreaves and her house full of cats. Was it an accident or was the house set afire on purpose, perhaps by one of the suspicious characters who also lived there? But the newspaper is 100 years old. Nothing stops this triad and they set out to the spot where the house should be (a little Robin shows them and takes them to a lake), but instead of a house they find a huge tree. The trio meet squirrels who introduce them to the inside of the tree which in turn opens a tunnel down which they three go . At the end of the tunnel is the house (of sorts) and there they discover Misty, the little three legged cat who is actually a ghost. The adventures they all participate in include a trip by Amy and James back to Cat City where the two find the help of previous friends who join them in going back to where Kiwi and Misty await. The mysteries are solved - but you'll have to read the book to find out how!
Johnstone has a way with the interaction of children and animals that provides a healthy partnership. She writes lyrically and keeps her stories moving along at a rapid pace. This Kindle book would do very well as a paperback book with illustrations that would heighten the experiences of the adventures of Kiwi for children. Vickie Johnstone has found a little goldmine with these tales and we can only hope for more. 

***** Review by: Ritesh Kala on December 26, 2011 

The Kiwi series by author Vickie Johnstone continues as Kiwi and her friends enter another adventure. For those who are new to the series, here is a little background. Amy and James, two kids own a cat named Kiwi, who is magical, and can turn the kids into kittens and take them to Cat City. Over the last two books, they have met a number of `catizens' there, who return to this story.
This book starts with Amy, James and Kiwi having the same nightmare about a three legged grey cat, trapped in a big scary house. As they begin to investigate, they realize that the house in their nightmare actually exists and was involved in a fire. Kiwi and the kids start to search for the house and this leads them to meet a number of new animals in the forest where the house was situated. These include a robin who helps them on their way and squirrels that now live in the tree that exists at the place where the house was previously located. As their search continues, they find their three-legged cat that is named Misty, and also find the reason why she is trapped in the house.
What they do not realize is the danger lurking there, and they manage to get trapped. Amy and James somehow escape and run back to Cat City to get help. This is the only small part in the story which takes place in Cat City in this book. Most of the story plays out in the human world. I really loved the scene where the catizens get to ride on the bus. These scenes had me laughing out loud.
This may be a somewhat scary story, but the adventure and the fun does not diminish one bit. And fear not, as with all good stories, the `good' side wins in the end (this is after all children's book and not high fantasy where authors relish in killing off one of their main characters).
Finally, I have to say that parents now do not need to compromise and read the `juvenile' books meant for kids as here is an option which would be interesting for the kids as well as their parents. I may be an adult, but I still read each of Vickie's stories with bated breath and expectation of new twists and newer characters in every book. With the coming introduction of illustrated paperbacks for the Kiwi series, the books may well move beyond five star category.

Reviews for the other 3 books need updating!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting - have a kitty cool day! :)